Tokyo’s Spiritual Heart: A Journey Through 10 Shrines and Temples

Posted by:

|

On:

|

Admist the energy of Tokyo, there lies a quiet world of spirituality – one rooted in century-old traditions. A myriad of Tokyo’s temples and shrines offer peaceful retreats where history, culture and tranquility intertwine.

1. Senso-ji Temple (Asakusa)

Senso-ji Temple, located in Tokyo’s Asakusa district, is one of the city’s most famous and historically significant landmarks. As a temple dedicated to Kannon, the Goddess of Mercy, the temple attracts millions of visitors each year who come to experience its beauty and history.

The legend says that in the year 628, two brothers fished a statue of Kannon (the goddess of mercy) out of the Sumida River. When the village headman of what is now called Asakusa, realized that they had fished up a statue of Avalokitesvara Bodhisattva (Kannon), he devoted himself to Buddhism. He rebuilt his house into a temple, and devoted the rest of his life to worship and holding memorial services for this Kannon. In 645, a Buddhist priest came to this region and built a hall for the Kannon statue. Following a revelation he recieved in a dream, the priest decided to hide the statue from view. Since that time, it has never been unveiled.

The journey begins with the Kaminari-mon, or “Thunder Gate”, which stands as a grand and colorful entrance to the temple grounds. This iconic gate features a large red lantern, and statues of the gods of wind and thunder – Raijin and Fujin – standing guard. It’s one of Tokyo’s most recognizable landmarks, and offers a perfect photo opportunity.

Nakamise is a shopping street of over 200 meters, and is one of the oldest shopping streets in Japan, stretching from the outer gate to the temples second gate, the Hozomon. Visitors can shop for Japanese souvenirs such as yukata, folding fans, and various traditional snacks from the Asakusa area.

Main Hall (Kannondo Hall) was built by the 3rd Tokugawa Shogun, Tokugawa Iemitsu, and has been designated a national treasure. The Main Hall was destroyed in the Great Tokyo Air Raid on March 10, 1945. It was rebuilt in 1958 with donations from followers all over Japan. The most immediate characteristic of the Main Hall is its dramatically sloping roof, considered quite tall compared to other temples. The hall is divided into naijin (inner sanctum) and the gejin (outer sanctum).Senso-ji’s principle image, Bodhisattva Kannon, sits in a miniature temple in the middle of the naijin

Five-storied Pagoda was built in 942 by military commander Taira no Kinmasa. Tokugawa Iemitsu had this national treasure rebuilt, but was burned down during the Tokyo Air Raid in 1945.

Hours and Fees:

Main Hall: 6:00 – 17:00 (from 6:30, October – March)

Temple Grounds: Always Open

Admission: Free

2. Meiji Jingu Shrine (Harajuku)

Meiji Jingu, is a Shinto shrine established in 1920 to commemorate the virtue of Emperor Meiji and Empress Shoken, who made the foundation on modernizing Japan.

Located just beside the JR Yamanote Line Harajuku Station, Meiji Jingu is adjascent to Yoyogi Park, and makes up a largely forested area (70 hectares) within the built-up city.

Once you are in the precinct, you will almost forget that you are in a hustling city, and will discover peace within nature and the traditional Japanese scenery.

Meiji Jingu Inner Garden: Entrance 500 yen / person

The Inner Garden (Gyoen) is the only part of Meiji Jingu that existed long before the Shrines foundation. In the early Edo Period (1603-1867), this area was the garden of Lord Kato of Kumamoto and later in ownership of Lord Ii of Hikone. The third Shogun, Iemitsu Tokugawa also visited this garden. After the Meiji Restoration in 1868, this area became the property of the Imperial Family and was renamed Yoyogi Gyoen. Emperor Meiji found great pleasure in this garden, and composed a Waka poetry in its honor.

“Utsusemino Yoyogi no sato wa Shizukanite

Miyako no hokano Kokochi kose sure”

(Deep in this woodland of Yoyogi, the quietude creates an illusion of seclusion from the city)

On this land, small trails crisscross through kumazasa (Sasa veitchiiNative Japanese Bamboo), reminiscent of traditional Musashino. In the garden you can find:

Kakuun-tei teahouse: This teahouse was built on the order of Emperor Meiji as a rest house for Empress Shoken to express his consideration for her. Kakuun-tei teahouse was the favorite resting place for the Empress on her visits to the garden. It was burned down in an air raid, but was rebuilt in 1958. 

Nan-chi Pond: The South Pond has been known as a sacred spring water pool from the days of Edo. The pure water from Kiyomasa no Ido irrigates the Iris Garden and flows into this pond, making aquatic plants such as lily and kouhone (Nuphar japonica – East Asian Waterlily) bloom. This pond is home to carp, crucian carp and Japanese rice fish. Kingfishers and herons can also be seen hunting here. In the winter, ducks and Mandarin ducks can be seen resting on the surface. Goshawk and red-flanked bluetail have also been sighted here. 

Iris Garden: Following the northwest trail from Nan-chi leads visitors to Kiyomasa’s well through the iris garden. In the Edo Period, this was a training paddy field for the children of samurai families to learn the importance and hardships involved in rice cultivation. In 1893, Emperor Meiji proposed that it be turned into a garden of irises for the pleasure of Emperor Shoken. 1,500 beautiful iris grounds of 150 original Edo-type varieties are planted in the iris paddies, which reach full floom in June.

Kiyomasa no Ido: Hidden among the trees along the path of the Iris Garden, spring water flows out of a well. This well is one of the most famous wells of the Edo Period. Because the land was initially the garden of Daimyo Kato in the early Edo Period, it is believed  that the well was made by the famous samurai, Kiyomasa Kato. The spring water irrigates the Iris Garden and supplies water to Nan-chi Pond. From that point on, the water flows out of the pond gate and under the Shin-kyo bridge over Minami-sando to form the Shibuya River. The water was used for tea ceremonies until recently. 

Tsutsuji-yama (Azalea Garden): Aged yamatsutsuji (Rhododendron kaempferi) bushes can be found in various places of the Garden, underneath of deciduous broadleaf trees that are found in the Musashino region. Found especially along the trail back from Kiyomasa’s Well, walking up the slope toward the North Gate, there are large clusters of yamatsutsuji among the tall kanara (Quercus serrata – Jolcam Oak) and yamazakura (Ceras jamasakura – Japanese Mountain Cherry). In full bloom in late April, the pale pink flowers create a beautiful contrast to the bright green leaves.

Seasonal Highlights:

  • Katakuri: Trout Lily – Mid March until Early April
  • Yamabuki: Japanese globeflower: late March until mid-April
  • Fuji: Wisteria: April
  • Yamatsutsuji: Rhododendron kaempferi: April to May
  • Hanashobu: Iris: Late may to late June
  • Suiren: Water lily: June to September
  • Red and Yellow leaves of autumn: Late November to Mid-December
  • Mandarin Ducks and Ducks: November to March
  • Kingfishers: All Year

3. Kanda Myojin Shrine (Akihabara)

Kanda Myojin is an ancient Shinto Shrine, located in the north-east of Chiyoda ward in Tokyo. Kanada Myojin is located just a stone throw away from Akihabara which is known as Tokyo’s electrical city and otaku city. Founded in 730, this shrine has quite the history,. Initially built in Shibasaki, near Otemachi, it was moved to the Kanda area in 1603, at the beginning of the Edo period, and then again in 1616 to its present location on a hill. The main pavilion was destroyed by the Great Kanto earthquake in 1923, and rebuilt in concrete in 1934, which allowed it to withstand the bombs during WWII. Every two years, around mid-may, there is a important and popular Kanda Matsuri.

Kanda Myojin’s main entrance, Zuishin-mon gate, was rebuilt in cypress wood in 1995. The shrine was initially dedicated to protecting Edo’s inhabitants and the three kami deities.

  • Daikokuten: god of wealth and trade;
  • Ebisu: protector of fishermen and businessmen;
  • Taira no Masakado: 10th century samurai, who was deified after his death and whose tomb is located near the initial location of the shrine in Otemachi.

4. Hie Shrine (Chiyoda)

Hie Shrine is a Shinto Shrine in Nagatacho, Chiyoda. On June 15th, Hie Shrine holds the Sanno Matsuri, one of the three great Japanese festivals of Edo. The date of establishment of Hie Shrine is unknown. According to some theories, Ota Dokan, established it in 1478. Another theory identifies Hie Shrine with the Sanno Shrine mentioned in a 1392 record of the Kumano Nachi Taisha. Tokugawa Ieyasu relocated it to the grounds of Edo Castle, and in 1604 his son, Tokugawa Hidetada moved it out, so that the people of Edo could worship there. 

Hie Shrine possess one National Treasure, a tachi (single-edged sword). It also holds 14 Important Cultural Assets, 13 swords and one naginata. The shrine is one of the most popular to visit during the Shichi-Go-San coming of age festival.

Festivals:

Sanno Matsuri: Held in mid-June, the Sanno Matsuri is one of the three most famous festivals in Tokyo, alongside Kanda Matsuri and Fukagawa Matsuri. A full version of the festival in only held in even-numbered years, alternating with the full version of the Kanda Matsuri. The Sanno Festival extends over a week with a variety of events. The festivals main attraction, which is held only in even-numbered years, is a parade that winds through central Tokyo over the course of nine hours on one of the festival days. The parade begins and ends at Hie Shrine. When Tokugawa shogun began to rule the country from Edo, the shrine also became associated with the Tokugawa family. During the period of their rule, the festival became a celebration of the nation’s new political center and its rulers. In modern times, the parade has become much smaller in scale in order to avoid interfering with traffic and regular business. The procession consists of only some modest sized floats, and about 500 people who are dressed in colorful costumes. The most important part of the parade are the three portable shrines (mikoshi), in which the kami are carried around the city. At Hie Shrine, where the parade begins, visitors can find a large straw ring standing in the middle of the shrine grounds. Walking through the ring is an act of purification.

5. Sengakuji Temple (Takanawa)

Sengakuji is a temple located in Takanawa, and is famous for its graveyard where the “47 ronin” (also known as Akoroshi, the ‘masterless samurai’) are buried. The story of the 47 loyal ronin became a highly popular kabuki play during the Edo period (1603-1868) and remains popular to this day. Sengakuji was built by Tokugawa Ieyasu, the first Shogun of Edo era in 1612 near Edo Castle as an establishment of Dogen’s tradition. (*Zen Master Dogen introduced the Soto lineage to Japan and founded one of the largest main temples of “Soto” Zen school – Eiheiji). 30 years after Sengakuji was built, it was devastated by a fire, and this has led to it being reconstructed at its current site. Sengakuji is now regarded as a temple closely related to the Ako Gishi, but it was in fact one of the three principle temples of Edo, and is known as a prestigious Buddhist institution.

A small memorial museum about the 47 ronin, the Akogishi Kinenkan, can also be found at Sengakuji. Inside the single-room museum, visitors can view artifacts related to the 47 ronin, such as letters and armor, and watch videos (in English, Mandarin or Japanese), explaining the history of the temple and the story of the royal retainers

Many people visit the temple in order to pay respect to the Akoroshi by burning incense sticks (senko) in the graveyard. In order to visit the graves, visitors must purchase an incense stick bundle for 300 yen, to give as an offering for the 47 ronin.

Goshuin is avaliable beside the main hall of the temple. It can be purchased at the cost of a donation, and writing a wish for the temple to offer to Buddha. Beside the main hall, there is a table with paper and ink pens for visitors to write down their wish.

December 14 is the anniversary of the 47 ronin’s avenge, and a festival is held annually to commemorate the event. The graveyard becomes crowded and many festival foods such as okonomiyaki and takoyaki can be enjoyed at the food stalls.

6. Nezu Shrine (Nezu)

Nezu Shrine is a Shinto Shrine located in the Bunkyo ward of Tokyo. Established in 1705, it is one of the oldest places of worship in the city, and several of the buildings on the shrine grounds have been designated as a Important Cultural Property. It was built in the Ishi-no-ma-zukuri style of Shinto architecture, following the Tosho-gu shrine in Nikko.

In 1705, the shrine was relocated to Nezu by Tokugawa Tsunayoshi (1646-1709), the fifth shogun.

According to legend, the Nezu shrine was founded in Sedagi, just north of its current location, in the first century by Yamato Takeru (also known as Princess Osu), the son of Emperor Keiko. The chief deity of the shrine was Susanoo-no-Mikoto, the kami of sea and storms.

Nezu Shrine is famously known for its Azalea Garden, and its Azalea Festival. The Azalea Festival (Tsutsuji Matsuri), which is held on the grounds from early April until early May and has been described as “Tokyo’s Most Beautiful Shrine”, and as one of the city’s “Most Spectacular Spring Scenes”.

Nezu Shrine is also known for its peaceful atmosphere, surrounded by nature. The tranquil environment invites visitors to slow down and enjoy the spiritual serenity. It’s a popular spot for both locals and tourists seeking a quiet spot to stroll through the gardens.

Also home to a peaceful and picturesque river, that although is not particularly large, it enhances the beauty of the site. Take the time to relax along the river and watch the turtles and koi fish that inhabit the stream.

On the same property as Nezu Shrine, there is also a small Inari shrine, with a pathway leading through the garden and lined with Torii gates.

7. Ueno Toshogu Shrine (Ueno)

Ueno Toshogu is a Shinto Shrine built and dedicated to the memory of Tokugawa Ieyasu in 1627. Tokugawa, to this day, is considered one of the most famous warriors throughout Japanese history, and his reputation as a prudent and patient leader is still respected among Japanese today.

The main structure of this shrine was rebuilt in 1651 by Tokugawa Iemitsu, the 3rd Tokugawa Shogun, and the grandson of Ieyasu. It also serves as an example of an architectural style representative of the Edo Period: gongen-zukuri.

Having survived through major earthquakes and wars, the structure has remained intact, and has been designated as an important cultural property of Japan, due to its representative nature of the Edo period. In additional to Ieyasu, the 8th Shogun, Tokugawa Yoshimune, and the 15th and final Shogun, Tokugawa Yoshinobu, are also enshrined at Ueno Toshogu. 

Visiting the shrine itself is free of charge, but there is a paid route (500 yen) within the wall. Visitors are not allowed into the main hall of the shrine, but it is available to view closely and appreciate the architecture. The buildings are trimmed in gold leaf and contain intricate carvings. 

The Sukebei Wall, which surrounds the shrine building, was built in 1651. The upper part of the wall is decorated with carvings of sea and river creatures. On the wall you can find animals that exist, such as wild animals, birds, fishes, frogs, shellfish, butterflies and mantis. There is also mythical creatures as well.

The Karamon (main gate) was built in 1651. Also covered in gold foil, it is decorate with hand carved flowers and birds on both sides of the gate. Two dragons are curved on the gate pillars, these are known as the ascending dragon and descending dragon. Legend has it that every night two dragons visit the Shinobazu-no-ike pond to drink from its water. 

8. Yushima Seido Temple (Bunkyo Ward)

Also known as the Mausoleum of Confucius, this temple was built and dedicated to Confucius in 1690. The temple is located in peaceful Yushima, not far from Akihabara, where it served as a center for training Tokugawa officials during the Edo Period (1603-1867). Confucianism stresses the improvability of people through endeavor. This philosophical import is from mainland China and has profoundly influenced the thinking, attitudes and morals of many Japanese, this is what makes Yushima Seidō an important historical institution. Yushima Seido modern day role is to promote the importance of Chinese history and culture in modern Japanese life. 

Yushima Seidō has its origins as a private Confucian temple – the Sensei-den, built by a neo-Confucian scholar and tutor to the first four Shoguns, Hayashi Razan. The Sensei-den was located at what is now known as Ueno Park, but was moved after Razan’s death to its present location by the fifth shogun, Tokugawa Tsunayoshi in 1690.

The building was renamed Taiseiden, and became an official training school for Tokugawa officials in 1797. The principals position was hereditary and passed down to Hayashi Razans’ son, and remained in the family through biological or adoptive sons until the Teiseiden schools abolishment in 1871 at the beginning of the Meiji Era. Post 1871, this site has been utilized by various institutions including the Ministry of Education, the Tokyo National Museum, and Ochanomizu University. 

Yushima Seidō was originally painted vermillion, but after several fires it was repainted black in 1799. The present structure was reinforced with concrete and was rebuilt in 1935 after the wooden structures were destroyed in the Great Kanto Earthquake of 1923.

At first glance, the temple doesn’t seem to be all that memorable, but as you pass through the Gyohkoh-mon gate, visitors will start to relish in the strong history of the grounds. Following the path and to the right, there is a bronze statue of Confucius (said to be the worlds largest), surrounded by large trees, including a large Pistacia chinensis (Chinese pistache) grown from a seedling of a tree at Confucius’ gravesite, and brought over from China in 1915. After going up the path and around the bend, the entrance to the main building, Hijiribashi-mon gate takes you to the wild grove of the second gate, Nyutoku-mon (constructed in 1704). The last gate, Kyodan-mon, marks the site of the original Academy building (pictured at top). Through the large black gates of the Kyodan-mon, is the Teiseiden. On weekends and public holidays, viewers can look inside of the hall for ¥200, which only consists of one room.

The Teiseiden, honors five Confucian figures, that are on display here are;

  • Confucius: (551-479 B.C) a great philosopher who propounded a system of personal and public morality. 
  • Mencius: (372-289 B.C) the next most famous Confucian scholar.
  • Yan Hui: (513-482 B.C) a disciple of Confucius, and revered as one of the four sages of Confucius. 
  • Zengzi: (505-435 B.C) a disciple of Confucius, another of the four sages who began the line of traditional Confucius teachers. 
  • Zisi: (481-402 B.C) the grandson of Confucius, who passed Confucianism onto Mencius. 

Yushima Sendō is a popular place for students praying for success in schools or university entrance exams. 

9. Yasukuni-Jinja Shrine (Kudanshita)

Yasukuni Shrine is a controversial Shinto shrine established in 1869 and located in Kudanshita. Other Shinto shrines around Japan perform rituals to honor principle deities, and what distinguishes Yasukuni, is that the shrine is dedicated to the spirits of those who have died fighting for the emperor since 1853. The shrine was originally built in 1869 on Kudan Hill in Tokyo, which is in close proximity to the Imperial Palace, to commemorate the soldiers who had fallen in service to the Meiji Emperor in the 1863 rebellion that led to the Boshin Civil War (1868-1869), the Saga Uprising, and the Seinan War.

Among the enshrined are Yoshida Shoin, Sakamoto Ryoma, Takasugi Shinsaku, and Hashimoto Sanai, historic figures famous for their activities that led the Meiji Restoration. Also enshrined are many soldiers from the Shino-Japanese, the Russo-Japanese, the First World War, the Manchurian Incident, the China Incident, and the Greater East Asian War. Around 2.5 million souls are named, including 14 convicted Class A (guilty of planning, initiating, and waging war) was criminals from World War 2 who were secretly added to the list in 1978.

These people, regardless of rank or social standing, are considered to be completely equal and are worshipped as venerable divinities of Yasukuni.  The shrine – which includes a military museum, opened in 1882 and contains many war vehicles, tanks and weaponry. Many view the museum as a symbol of Japan’s military tradition; while other view it as a reminder of a oppressive past. According to Japanese beliefs, respect and awe for the deceased are best expressed by treating the dead in the same manner as if they were alive. 

Initially called the Tokyo Shokonsha (“Shrine where divine spirits are invited”), but the name was changed to Yasukuni-jinja (“Shrine of the peaceful country”) by the Meiji Emperor in 1879. 

The origins of Yasukuni Jinja lie in a shrine called Shokonsha, which was established at Kudan in Tokyo in the second year of the Meiji Era (1869), by the will of Emperor Meiji. It was renamed Yasukuni Jinja in 1879.

When Emperor Meiji visited Shokonsha for the first time in January, 1874, he composed a poem:
“I assure those of you who fought and died for your country that your names will live forever at the shrine in Musashino”. Yasukuni Jinja was established to commemorate and honor the achievements of those who dedicated their lives to the country. 

Festivals: 

  • Mitama Festival (July 13-16): Based on Obon, a Japanese festival to honor the spirits of the deceased ancestors, the Mitama Festival began in 1947. It has become a beloved staple of summer in Tokyo, and is packed with many visitors every year. During the festival, the shrine grounds are hung with more than 30,000 small and large lanterns, as well as paper lanterns bearing writing and art by notable figures from various fields. Rituals to comfort the enshrined spirits are performed nightly at the main Sanctuary . The brightly illuminated main approach to the shrine hosts the earliest Bon Odori dance in Tokyo. This dance, as well as the rows of night stalls, recreate the atmosphere of ancient festivals for the modern day. 

For a full list of festival and rituals, visit: yasukuni.or.jp/english/festivals.html

10. Zojo-ji Temple (Minato)

Zojo-ji is the head temple of the Jodo sect of Japanese Buddhism in the Kanto Region.

Next to Tokyo Tower, the temple grounds consist of stunning structures, a mausoleum of the Tokugawa family, and a small museum. Most of Zojo-ji’s current buildings are recent reconstructions, except for the main gate, Sangedatsumon, which has survived many fires, earthquakes and wars that date back from 1622.

The temple was originally built in the year 1393, and moved to its present location in 1598 by Tokugawa Ieyasu, who selected it as his family temple. Six of the fifteen Tokugawa shoguns are buried in the grounds of Zojo-ji, such as Hidetada (2nd shogun), Ienobu (6th shogun), Ietsugu (7th shogun), Ieyoshi (12th shogun), and Iemochi (14th shogun)

On the right side of the Ankokuden (A new strong-hold for the Nembutsu faith – reconstructed in 2010) is a Sentai Kosodate Jido (Unborn Children Garden). These statues are called “care guardian deities of children”. They are dedicated for the safe growth of children and grandchildren, as well as a memorial for still or miscarried children. To protect and keep their heads warm, ‘red hats’, ‘red apron’ and ‘windmills’ were dedicated to the guardian deity of the children.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *